Drexel University Libraries
home home catalog resources study guides services about the libraries
Drexel University Libraries
                 
 
Fundamentals of Engineering Research

Introduction Finding Patents
Finding Books Finding Engineering Standards
Finding Articles Finding Technical Reports
Finding Electronic Books

Introduction

This guide is intended to provide a general introduction to the key information resources which are useful for all engineers. Please see the research guide for your specialty to find subject-specific resources and useful keywords related to your field.

Finding Full-Text from Citations
You found an interesting citation, but where’s the article? This guide will help you navigate to the full-text online.

Building a Bibliography
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool. It can help you organize citations for the books, journal articles, web sites, etc. that you find while doing research. Best of all, it can generate a properly formatted bibliography for your papers. This site guides you through the process of setting up a RefWorks account and getting started with this great tool. Highly recommended.

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on engineering:
Try a keyword search: architectural engineering
chemical properties
Try a subject search: Nanotechnology
Distillation
Include the type of book you are looking for: electrical engineering AND encyclopedia
construction AND standards
Use truncation for more results: chemi* retrieves…
chemistry, chemist, chemical, chemically, etc.
Or, browse ebook collections: ENGnetBASE: CRC Engineering Handbooks Online
Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References
Ebrary: an extensive ebook collection covering all subjects

Finding Articles

best resource Engineering Village — ELECTRONIC
The combined Compendex®, Ei Backfile & Inspec® databases allow for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. It also covers engineering websites, CRC Handbooks, patents, and industry standards.
IEEE Xplore — ELECTRONIC
Provides full-text access to all IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards.
best resource Proquest Research Library — ELECTRONIC
Provides searching platform for a number of periodical databases covering Business, Science, Technology, Humanities and Social Sciences. While Proquest is not an engineering-specific database, its extensive holdings and convenient interface make it a very useful tool for engineering research.
Science Direct — ELECTRONIC
ScienceDirect is a search platform which provides access to more than 1000 full-text journals in a wide range of subject areas. Check out the Engineering subject area from their homepage.
Web of Science — ELECTRONIC
The Library’s premier journal article database, covering more than 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It is unique in that it provides searching by locating articles that cite other articles or authors.

The full list of engineering-related databases subscribed to by Drexel University Libraries…


Finding Electronic Books

best resource ENGnetBASE — ELECTRONIC
Full-text of over 75 engineering handbooks online.
best resource Knovel — ELECTRONIC
Online engineering reference with interactive graphs and equations, tables, and other useful information.
Referex Engineering — ELECTRONIC
A collection of over 300 engineering eBooks in 3 distinct collections, including Chemical, Petrochemical & Process.
The full list of engineering-related databases subscribed to by Drexel University Libraries…

Finding Patents

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) — WWW
The USPTO offers web access to bibliographic and full-text patent databases. These databases provide full-text of patents from 1976 to the present and full page images from 1790 to the present.
Fresh Patents — WWW
Provides access to the latest published US patent applications each week BEFORE the USPTO decision to grant/deny.
best resource Google Patent — WWW
Google’s excellent patent search interface.
pat2pdf.org – WWW
Given a patent number, pat2pdf.org will return a free, pdf formated version of the patent. This is generally easier than using the USPTO patent viewer plug-in.
best resource For more extensive listings of resources, please see our Patents guide.

Finding Engineering Standards

ILI Standards Infobase — ELECTRONIC
The ILI standards database covers over 600,000 worldwide standards. Coverage extends across the industrialized world.
List of Standards covered in ILI Standards Infobase
Please contact Jay Bhatt, Engineering Librarian, for access to the standards available in ILI Standards Infobase. Phone Numer: 215-895-1873.
Techstreet
Techstreet offers individual, text-searchable standards from around the world. Downloadable PDF formated versions of the standards are available for purchase.
best resource For more extensive listings of resources, please see our Standards guide.

Finding Technical Reports

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
Allows users to search the many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs. NTRS includes access to the full-text of recent reports.
best resource Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI)
The US Department of Energy’s OSTI service allows searching across vast collections of technical reports, conference proceedings, and other “gray literature”.
Virtual Technical Reports Center - University of Maryland
Institutions listed here provide either full-text reports, or searchable extended abstracts of their technical reports on the World Wide Web. This site contains links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds.



Quick Search