Drexel University Libraries
home home catalog resources study guides services about the libraries
Drexel University Libraries
                 
 
Biomedical Engineering

Finding Books Handbooks
Finding Articles Encyclopedias

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Biomedical Engineering:
Try a keyword search: biomaterials
biomechanics
Try a subject search: Nanotechnology
Surgical Instruments and Apparatus
Include the type of book you are looking for: biomedical engineering AND encyclopedia
medical devices AND handbook
Use truncation for more results: biomed* retrieves…
biomedic, biomedical, biomedicine, etc.
Or, browse ebook collections: ENGnetBASE: CRC Engineering Handbooks Online
Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References
Ebrary: an extensive ebook collection covering all subjects

Finding Articles

This page focuses on resources which have specific usefulness to the Biomedical Engineering community.  However, many general, interdisciplinary engineering resources are useful for all engineers, regardless of their specialty.  For example, Engineering Village is a superb database for scholarly articles, handbooks, patents, standards, and more.  For general engineering resources, please see our Fundamentals of Engineering Research guide.
best resource Blackwell Synergy - is now Wiley Interscience — ELECTRONIC
Full text of over 600 journals related to Science, Technology, Medicine, Humanities and Social Sciences. Coverage extends back to 1997 in most cases.
best resource MD Consult — ELECTRONIC
Full text access to over 36 medical texts and 46 journals related to the Health Sciences. USERNAME REQUIRED - From an ON CAMPUS computer, you must visit their site and setup an individual user name and password before you will be able to access the site. Once you have your account, you should be able to use MD Consult from both on and off campus.
MEDLINE via Ovid — ELECTRONIC
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the printed International Nursing Index with significant material from Index to Dental Literature.
Science Direct: Medicine and Dentistry — ELECTRONIC
ScienceDirect is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals in many subject areas, including Medicine and Dentistry.

Handbooks

best resource The Biomedical Engineering Handbook — PRINT, ELECTRONIC
R856.15.B56 2000, Hagerty Reserves — 1st floor (check catalog)
The Biomedical Engineering Handbook defines the discipline by bringing together the core of knowledge from all applied biomedical engineering subjects. Written for the biomedical engineering professional seeking specific information, the book is also indispensable for other engineering and medical professionals seeking an overview of the entire field or information on one particular aspect of it.
ENGnetBASE — ELECTRONIC
EngNetBase contains searchable and browseable pdf versions of over 75 individual CRC Handbooks.
best resource Gray’s Anatomy: the anatomical basis of clinical practice. — PRINT, ELECTRONIC
QM 23.2.G73 2005, Hagerty Reference — 1st floor (check catalog)
Gray’s Anatomy is one of those few titles that practically everybody has heard of, and with good reason - it is a scientific and artistic triumph. Not just a dry index of parts and names, Gray’s lets the natural beauty and grace of the body’s interconnected systems and structures shine forth from the page.
Handbook of Biomaterial Properties — PRINT
R857.M3.H36 1998, Hagerty Reference — 1st floor (check catalog)
This handbook draws together for the first time much of the accepted data and information on the subject. The experts responsible for each contribution have considered not merely the intrinsic and interactive properties of biomaterials, but also the appropriateness of their applications as well as their historical context.
Handbook of Biosensors and Electronic Noses — PRINT
R857.B54.H36 1997, Hagerty Reserve Room — 1st floor (check catalog)
The Handbook of Biosensors and Electronic Noses discusses design and optimization for the multitude of practical uses of these devices. The Handbook of Biosensors and Electronic Noses will help you choose the best combination of sensors, sample handling, and signal processing, providing optimum performance for specific applications and saving money and time.
NEUROSCIENCEnetBASE — ELECTRONIC
NEUROSCIENCEnetBASE includes 69 fully searchable eboks on the topics of Clinical Neuroscience and Biomedical Engineering.

Encyclopedias

Biotechnology. A Multi-Volume Comprehensive Treatise — PRINT
TP 248.2.B5465 1991, Hagerty Reference — 1st floor (check catalog)
This fully revised and expanded Second Edition is extraordinary broad in scope, carefully structured and well balanced. ‘Biotechnology’ considers both basic concepts and widely differing industrial applications: it is a successful synthesis of theory and practice.
best resource Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering — ELECTRONIC
Written by some 400 subject experts representing diverse academic and applied domains, this multidisciplinary resource surveys the vanguard of biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials–uncovering current lines of research as well as innovative applications in tissue engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices. The Encyclopedia portrays field progress through the placement of nearly 9000 literature citations, 200 chemical structures and equations, and 350 color graphics.
Encyclopedia of BioStatistics — PRINT
RA 409.E53 1998, Hagerty Reference — 1st floor (check catalog)
Comprising over 1,200 articles written by more than 800 contributors. It provides extensive coverage of statistical issues pertinent to life scientists, health care professionals, and practicing statisticians. Entries range from basic statistical concepts, practical issues arising in medical research to advanced methods and theoretical developments.
Encyclopedia of Human Biology — PRINT
QP 11.E53 1991, Hagerty Reference — 1stfloor (check catalog)
Included in this encyclopedia are essays by well-recognized specialists which cover all aspects of the human condition.  Some topics that are covered are behavior, learning, occupational and environmental consideration, and important substances. There is a glossary & bibliography in each volume.
best resource Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology — PRINT
T174.7 .E53 2004, Hagerty Reference — 1st floor (check catalog)
This is a comprehensive treatment of the nanotechnology field, containing articles on nanofabrication and processing of nanoscale materials, properties of atomic, molecular and nanoscale materials, and biomedical applications, amongst others.
best resource Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry — ELECTRONIC
Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a reference work detailing the state of scientific and technological knowledge in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: Inorganic and organic chemicals, Advanced materials, Pharmaceuticals, Polymers and plastics, Metals and alloys, Biotechnology and biotechnological products, Food chemistry, Process engineering and unit operations, Analytical methods Environmental protection, etc.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering — PRINT, ELECTRONIC
TK9.E53 1999, Hagerty Reference — 1st floor (check catalog)
Contains over 1400 articles that describe every aspect of electrical and electronics engineering. Articles emphasize the contributions from experts in each of the key areas of electrical engineering and electronics engineering.


Quick Search