Useful Databases
| Name | Description |
|---|---|
| Ethnography Video Online (TRIAL) 1900 - Present |
Ethnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. This trial runs through September 6, 2011. Please send any feedback on this resource to Larry Milliken, Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian. |
| ProQuest Legislative Insight (TRIAL) 1929-present |
Legislative Insight will make available 18,000 legislative histories covering laws from 1929 to the present, with fully searchable PDFs of all relevant publications generated in the course of U.S. congressional lawmaking. |
| SimplyMap TRIAL |
a web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using United States demographic, business, and marketing data. Data sources for this trial include: 1) Access detailed profiles on over 30 million U.S. businesses provided by D&B (Dun & Bradstreet), the world's leading source of commercial information and insight on businesses. Add business points to your map to find the best place to locate your business, manage the competition, or identify services. 2) Experian SimmonsLOCAL is a powerful targeting and profiling system that provides insights into consumer behavior for all of America's 210 media markets on a local level with 60,000+ data variables, including over 450 categories and 8,000 specific brands. 3) Nielsen Claritas PRIZM defines every U.S. household in terms of 66 demographic and behavior types or segments to help marketers discern those consumers likes, dislikes, lifestyles and purchase behaviors. 4) Health Module answers frequently asked questions about disease, health status, doctor visits and more. EASI has modeled the health statistics for the U.S. population based upon age, sex, and race probabilities. The probabilities are modeled against the EASI Census, current year and five year forecasts. The sources of this data is the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). 5) The Historical Package includes census data going back to 1980 in current year geography for comparison purposes. It also offers a unique glimpse into current household finances ? the type and amounts of household assets, the types and amounts of household debts, and the distribution of net worth by neighborhood including forclosure data sourced by HUD (Housing and Urban Development). This trial ends January 31, 2012 |
| Statista (TRIAL) |
Statista.com integrates over 60,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into over 20 market sectors, Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest. Content is generally free to access; however, given the exclusivity and detail of many statistics, a purchased Premium Account is required to access much of the platform. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. |
Content Editor: Bill Paterson
Last Updated: 01/05/2012






