image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Physical Sciences Databases

Name Description
Astrophysics Data System
Dates vary

Open Access

NASA-funded project whose main resource is an Abstract Service, which includes four sets of abstracts: Astronomy and astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and geophysics, and Los Alamos preprint server.

INSPEC
1896-current

Bibliographic database providing access to the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering.

Name Description
AccessScience
Dates vary.

Full access to 7100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily. Also includes over 2000 biographies of leading scientists, weekly updates of breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, a science dictionary, and links to related websites.

arXiv.org
Dates vary

Open Access

Electronic pre-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science and quantitative biology.

Atomic Spectral Line Broadening Bibliographic Database
Dates vary

Open Access

The NIST bibliographic database on atomic spectral line broadening contains approximately 800 recent references, including numerical data, general information, comments, and review articles.

Atomic Transition Probability Bibliographic Database
1914-1999

Open Access

NIST's bibliographic database on atomic transition probabilities presently contains 6113 references, dating from 1914 through May 1999.

Atomic Weights and Isotopic Compositions
Dates vary

Open Access

The atomic weights are available for elements 1 through 111, and isotopic compositions or abundances are given when appropriate.

Bibliography of Photon Total Cross Section (Attenuation Coefficient) Measurements
1907-1995

Open Access

Database of measured and theoretical cross section data in the form of reprints, reports, and personal communications.

Biological Macromolecule Crystallization Database
Dates vary

Open Access

The Biological Macromolecule Crystallization Database (BMCD) contains crystal data and the crystallization conditions, which have been compiled from literature.

ChemRate: A Calculational Database for Unimolecular Reaction
Dates vary

Open Access

ChemRate is a program containing databases with experimental results on unimolecular reactions, information pertaining to transition state and molecular structures necessary for the calculation of high pressure rate constants and thermal functions respectively.

Community of Science (old COS interface)
Dates vary

includes COS Expertise and COS Workbench

The Community of Science researcher database lets you identify and locate researchers with interests and expertise similar to your own. It contains over 40,000 first-person expertise records. Users may limit retrieval to a particular location or institution and may also add their own record to the database.

Department of Energy Information Bridge
1995-current

Open Access

Provides the open source to full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports.

Electron Interactions with Plasma Processing Gases
Current

Open Access

Presented in this database are electron-collision cross section data and electron transport coefficients for gases used in the manufacturing of semiconductor devices.

Electron-Impact Ionization Cross Section Database
Current

Open Access

Electron-Impact Ionization Cross Section Database primarily consists of total ionization cross sections of molecules by electron impact.

Elemental Data Index
Current

Open Access

The Elemental Data Index provides access to the holdings of NIST Physics Laboratory online data organized by element. It is intended to simplify the process of retrieving online scientific data for a specific element.

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Dates vary

Over 2,750 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and continually updated articles.

Energy Database
1995-current

Open Access

ETDEWEB contains worldwide information in the nuclear, coal, and global climate change areas.

Fundamental Physical Constants - Searchable Bibliography on the Constants
Dates vary

Open Access

Contains citations for theoretical and experimental publications relevant to the fundamental constants and closely related precision measurements.

Ground Levels and Ionization Energies for the Neutral Atoms
Current

Open Access

The table of ionization energies in Ground Levels and Ionization Energies for the Neutral Atoms are based on a recent survey of the literature.

Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
85th edition , 2004-2005

Online equivalent of the 84rd edition of this print classic.

INIS Online Database

Open Access

The INIS Database, which today contains 2.7 million bibliographic records; it is accessible by subscription only and has currently 1.3 million authorized users.

International Comparisons Database
Current

Open Access

Provides access to results of comparisons of National Metrology Institute (NMI) measurements and standards.

International Nuclear Information System
1970 -

INIS is the world’s largest database of scientific and technical literature on a wide range of subjects from nuclear engineering, safeguards and non-proliferation to applications in agriculture, health and industry.

JSTOR Life Sciences
Journal inception through 2003

A journal archive covering Health & General Sciences and Biological Sciences

knovel
Dates vary

Database of some of the leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings.

NASA Technical Report Server
Dates vary

Open Access

The NASA Technical Report Server is an experimental service that allows users to search the many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs.

NDRL/NIST Solution Kinetics Database on the Web
Current

Open Access

Data for free radical processes involving primary radicals from water, inorganic radicals and carbon-centered radicals in solution, and singlet oxygen and organic peroxyl radicals in various solvents.

NIST Atomic Spectra Database
Current

Open Access

Contains data for radiative transitions and energy levels in atoms and atomic ions.

NIST Chemical Kinetics Database
Current

Open Access

The NIST Chemical Kinetics Database includes all reported kinetics results for thermal gas-phase chemical reactions.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
Current

Open Access

This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.

NIST Data Gateway
Current

Open Access

Provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data, covering a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines.

NIST Database for the Isotopic Composition of Selected Atmospheric Constituents
Current

Open Access

Contains over a thousand reported measurements of CH3D, 13CH4, and 14CH4 at sources and in tropospheric air.

NIST Database on Reinforcement Permeability Values
Current

Open Access

This database serves as a repository for permeability measurements. Version 1.0 contains more than 100 data points measured at NIST for different woven, random, unidirectional, and stitched glass fabrics.

NIST High Temperature Superconducting Materials Database
Current

Open Access

The NIST High Temperature Superconducting Materials Database (WebHTS) provides evaluated thermal, mechanical, and superconducting property data for oxides and other nonconventional superconductors.

NIST ITS-90 Thermocouple Database
Current

Open Access

This database reproduces a subset of the tables and reference functions of NIST Monograph 175, "Temperature Electromotive Force Reference Functions and Tables for the Letter-Designated Thermocouple Types Based on the ITS-90".

NIST Property Data Summaries for Advanced Materials
Current

Open Access

Property Data Summaries are topical collections of property values derived from surveys of published data. Thermal, mechanical, structural, and chemical properties are included in the collections.

NIST Property Data Summaries for Fracture Toughness
Current

Open Access

NIST Property Data Summaries for Fracture Toughness provide fracture toughness data on numerous materials.

NIST Property Data Summaries for Oxide Glasses
Current

Open Access

The NIST Oxide Glasses Collection has property data on borate base glasses, germanate base glasses, phosphate base glasses and silicate base glasses.

NIST Structural Ceramics Database
Current

Open Access

Provides evaluated materials property data for a wide range of advanced ceramics known variously as structural ceramics, engineering ceramics, and fine ceramics.

NIST Visible Cement Dataset
Current

Open Access

The NIST Visible Cement Dataset consists of data on cement pastes with w/c ratios between 0.3 and 0.45 that were prepared and viewed after various hydration times.

NIST X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy Database
Current

Open Access

Resulting from a critical evaluation of the published literature, the database contains over 22,000 line positions, chemical shifts, doublet splittings, and energy separations of photoelectron and Auger-electron lines.

NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
1977-current

Open Access

NTIS is the federal government source for the sale of scientific, technical, engineering, and related business information by or for the U.S. government and complementary materials from international sources. See the NTIS Database User Guide for assistance using this database.

Phase Diagrams and Computational Thermodynamics - Solder Systems
Current

Open Access

Contains a collection of calculated binary and ternary systems that are relevant to solders.

Radionuclide Half-Life Measurements

Open Access

Table based on "New and revised half-life measurements results,"§ by M.P. Unterweger, D.D. Hoppes, and F.J. Schima (1992), is a revised listing of the half lives determined at NIST since 1967.

SAGE Journals Online :: SAGE Premier Collection
1999 - current

SAGE Premier collection is comprised of full-text access to nearly 500 journals published by SAGE covering all academic disciplines, but specializing in Social Sciences.

Scirus
Dates vary

To link to Drexel full text from Scirus, first add Drexel University in the Library Partner Links within Scirus Preferences.

A comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet. Searches open-access websites as well as peer-reviewed content from publisher sites.

Thermodynamics of Enzyme-Catalyzed Reactions Database
Current

Open Access

Provides a compilation of data on the thermodynamics of enzyme-catalyzed reactions, limited to direct equilibrium and calorimetric measurements performed on these reactions under in vitro conditions.

Triatomic Spectral Database
Current

Open Access

These tables represent the second part of a series of critical reviews on molecular rotational spectra in the microwave frequency region.

U.S. Department of Energy
Dates vary

Open Access

Access to full-text DOE research and development reports.

X-Ray Attenuation and Absorption for Materials of Dosimetric Interest
Current

Open Access

Tables and graphs of the photon mass attenuation coefficient and the mass energy-absorption coefficient are presented for all of the elements Z = 1 to 92, and for 48 compounds and mixtures of radiological interest.

X-Ray Transition Energies Database
Current

Open Access

This X-ray transition table provides the energies and wavelengths for the K and L transitions connecting energy levels having principal quantum numbers n = 1, 2, 3, and 4.

XCOM: Photon Cross Sections Database
Current

Open Access

A web database is provided which can be used to calculate photon cross sections for scattering, photoelectric absorption and pair production, as well as total attenuation coefficients, for any element, compound or mixture (Z <= 100) at energies from 1 keV to 100 GeV.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy