image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Funding Databases

Name Description
Community of Science (COS) Funding Opportunities
Current

Available through the CSA Illumina platform

COS Funding Opportunities is a compiled database of available opportunities for grants, fellowships, prizes and other type of funding. It is an extensive database with opportunities for recipients anywhere in the world, working in any discipline. Opportunity sponsors come from the public and private sector, including local, state and national governments, foundations and societies, and corporations.

Community of Science (COS) Papers Invited
current

Available through the CSA Illumina platform

The database consists of detailed information and deadlines about calls for papers for forthcoming conferences and special issues of scholarly journals. These calls for papers are issued by professional bodies, journal editors and other conference organizers in all disciplines and from all over the world. Thus, the database serves as an alerting service for researchers, scholars and students that are seeking opportunities to present and publish their research. Approximately 10,000 conferences are listed each year along with 1,200-1,500 special issues. Also searchable from within any of Drexel's CSA databases

Community of Science (COS) Scholar Universe
current

Available from the CSA Illumina platform

COS Scholar Universe provides authoritative information about more than 1 million scholars and organizations around the world, together with verified affiliation and publication information. The database comprises international faculty at 4-year universities and their departments. Also searchable from within any of Drexel's CSA databases. A complement to COS Expertise.

Name Description
Community of Science (old COS interface)
Dates vary

includes COS Expertise and COS Workbench

The Community of Science researcher database lets you identify and locate researchers with interests and expertise similar to your own. It contains over 40,000 first-person expertise records. Users may limit retrieval to a particular location or institution and may also add their own record to the database.

FoundationSearch America

This is the industry standard tool that permits searching foundation descriptions and granting areas, as well as descriptions of grant awardees and the funded projects, with features to batch download search results to a spreadsheet. Available by two means - 1.) during regularly staffed hours with assistance from the librarian at the Hagerty Library Reference Desk, 2.) by special arrangement for classes with assignments that involve grant writing and research. Contact siftar@drexel.edu with questions.

Funded Research
Dates vary

A comprehensive database of funding and award histories; includes data from the NIH, NSF, etc.

Grants.gov
Current

Open Access

Grants.gov is a database designed so that seekers of Federal grants to electronically find, apply for, and manage grants.

GrantsNet.org
Current

Free online registration required

A searchable database of funding opportunities in biomedical research and science education.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy