image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Environmental Studies Databases

Name Description
BioOne
2000-current

Offers an aggregation of full-text, high-impact bioscience research journals, mostly published by small societies and non-commercial publishers.

Environmental Science Database
1972 - Current

3 concurrent users

coverage of topics such as soil erosion, erosion control, biodegradation, bioremediation, and more. Environmental Science Database also contains information on environmental aspects of agriculture, forestry, food, and rural development.

Name Description
AGRICOLA
1979-current

Comprehensive source of U.S. agricultural and life sciences information, containing over 3.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, monographs, theses, and more, from 1979 to the present.

Columbia Gazetteer of the World

NEW!

The Columbia Gazetteer of the World is an encyclopedia of geographical places and features covering the entire World. The entries include information on many of the following: demography; physical geography; political boundaries; industry, trade, and service activities; agriculture; cultural, historical, and archeological points of interest; transportation lines; longitude, latitude, and elevations; distance to relevant places; pronunciations; official local government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings.Their length varies from a brief notation on a small village to an essay on a country or region.

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
1971-current

The database contains 102,000 abstracts, including selected technical reports, conference papers, monographs, and journal articles in earthquake engineering and related fields.

Energy Database
1995-current

Open Access

ETDEWEB contains worldwide information in the nuclear, coal, and global climate change areas.

ENVIROnetBASE
Current

Collection of environmental science handbooks published by CRC Press.

Environmental Engineering Abstracts
1990-current

Coverage of the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production, with over 700 journals indexed.

GeoRef
1785- (N. America); 1933- (intl)

Established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, GeoRef is a comprehensive database of bibliographic information in the geosciences.

GreenFILE
Current

GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

Neotropical Birds

Open Access

Neotropical Birds Online is an authoritative, online resource for life histories of Neotropical birds.The scope of Neotropical Birds Online is all bird species that regularly occur in the Neotropics, from Mexico and the Caribbean south to southernmost South America. The emphasis is on species that breed within this region, but the eventual goal is to provide accounts for all species that regularly occur within this region.

Paleobiology Database

Open Access

The Paleobiology database is a public resource for the scientific community. It has been organized and operated by a multi-disciplinary, multi-institutional, international group of paleobiological researchers. Its purpose is to provide global, collection-based occurrence and taxonomic data for marine and terrestrial animals and plants of any geological age, as well as web-based software for statistical analysis of the data. The project's wider, long-term goal is to encourage collaborative efforts to answer large-scale paleobiological questions by developing a useful database infrastructure and bringing together large data sets.

U.S. Department of Energy
Dates vary

Open Access

Access to full-text DOE research and development reports.

U.S. Geological Survey
1785- (N. America); 1933- (intl)

Open Access

Provides access to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes more than 25,145 publications.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy