Recommended
| Name | Description |
|---|---|
|
Columbia Gazetteer of the World NEW! |
The Columbia Gazetteer of the World is an encyclopedia of geographical places and features covering the entire World. The entries include information on many of the following: demography; physical geography; political boundaries; industry, trade, and service activities; agriculture; cultural, historical, and archeological points of interest; transportation lines; longitude, latitude, and elevations; distance to relevant places; pronunciations; official local government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings.Their length varies from a brief notation on a small village to an essay on a country or region. |
|
Roper Center iPoll 1935-current Users must fill out a one-time registration and agree to Terms of Use before using this resource. |
iPOLL is and up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion polls. It is full-text retrieval system organized at the question-level, and includes nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935. The data is updated daily. |
|
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI) 1980-current 41 concurrent users maximum |
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. |
|
Sociological Abstracts 1952-current |
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the literature in socology (and related disciplines) from an international selection of journals, serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations. |
Also Useful
| Name | Description |
|---|---|
|
Ageline 1978-current Open Access |
AgeLine abstracts the literature of social gerontology as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. |
|
Alternative Press Index 1991-current |
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. |
|
American History In Video 1890 to Present NEW! |
American History in Video includes approximately 1,000 hours of newsreels from the late 1890s to the 1980s. Beginning with the Spanish American War, the early films provide documentary footage of actual people, places, and events together with interviews and other broadcast content from the period. In addition to the “officially received†perspectives offered by newsreels, this collection includes some 200 hours of rare, hard-to-find, and diverse perspectives as captured in a wide range of short films. Alongside the contemporaneous materials are some 750 high-quality documentaries from video content producers such as The History Channel that Covering the full gamut of American history from the pre-Colonial period through the twentieth century. |
|
Annual Reviews Dates vary |
Annual Reviews volumes, published each year in approximately 30 focused disciplines within the biological, medical, physical, and social sciences, are thorough and timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists and academicians. |
|
AP Images 1826 - Current formerly AccuNet/Associated Press Multimedia Archive; 1 user maximum |
an International photo archive (1826-present), a Graphics Database which contains graphics, maps, illustrations and logos, and an AP Audio Database which contains searchable audio clips dating back to the 1920s. |
|
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) 1987-Current |
ASSIA indexes over 500 journals covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. |
|
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI) 1992-current |
Indexes books, journals, reports, etc. about women's health and human rights issues. |
|
Criminal Justice Abstracts 1968-Current NEW! |
Criminal Justice Abstracts, the criminology database from SAGE Publications, contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. |
|
Historical Abstracts 1450-current |
Provides coverage of over 1,700 journal titles published worldwide and serves as a complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). |
|
HLAS Online 1936-current Open Access |
The Handbook of Latin American Studies is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. |
|
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907-1984 |
Provides full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of major scholarly sources in the humanities and social sciences, as well as numerous lesser-known specialized magazines. |
|
In The First Person Dates vary Open Access |
In the First Person is an index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. |
|
JSTOR Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 1 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 2 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 3 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 4 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
Left Index 1982-current |
Guide to literature of leftist and radical media, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. |
|
LexisNexis Statistical 1973 - Present |
Includes tables, abstracts, and links to statistical information from State, US, and International sources through LexisNexis. The American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index, Index to International Statistics. |
|
National Geographic Society Publications Index 1888-current Open Access |
The NGS Publications Index includes broad subject indexing to magazines, books, films and videos, educational products, map products, interactive features, and newsletters produced by the Society. |
|
NCJRS Abstracts Database 1970-current Open Access |
Contains summaries of more than 160,000 publications on criminal justice, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. |
|
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Current |
An online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center's unique features include Viewpoint articles and access to statistics and government data placed in context. |
|
Original Sources Prehistory-current |
Searchable full-text of Primary works by the most important figures in all aspects of World History. |
|
PAIS International 1972-current New Platform! |
Covers articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, hearings and statistical directories about public affairs, including public policy and social issues. |
|
Project Muse Dates vary |
Project MUSE is a collaboration between libraries and publishers providing full-text access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. |
|
PsycBooks 1806 - present |
a full-text database of over 1100 books and chapters in the American Psychological Association’s array of electronic ebooks. |
|
PsycCRITIQUES Current |
full-text reviews of books, popular films, videos, and software relevant to psychology. Weekly releases may also include a review of a popular first-run film or a comparative review of several current trade books. Reviews focus on current media, with most being from the current year. |
|
PsycINFO 1872-current |
Indexes and abstracts books, dissertations and journal articles in the psychological and behavioral sciences, including the creative arts therapies. |
|
SAGE Journals Online :: SAGE Premier Collection 1999 - current |
SAGE Premier collection is comprised of full-text access to nearly 500 journals published by SAGE covering all academic disciplines, but specializing in Social Sciences. |
|
ScienceDirect 1995-current |
ScienceDirect is a search platform which provides access to more than 1000 full-text journals in a wide range of subject areas. |
|
SimplyMap 5 concurrent users maximum. Free personal registration is required for access. |
a web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using United States demographic, business, and marketing data. Data sources include the U.S. Census and Census projections. |
|
Social Services Abstracts 1980-current |
CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. |
|
Web of Knowledge (ISI) 1980-present |
ISI Web of Knowledge is a Web portal the ISI Citation databases through Web of Science: Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index, as well as Current Contents and Journal Citation Reports. |


